RSS Feed

Saint Patrick

Posted on

Hi kids!

Sorry for the extended break.  I have been doing a lot of developing over the last few weeks.  For starters, I am working on a series for the blog that is like a life story.  I have been reading Tim Russert’s book, Big Russ and Me, and I am inspired to do a little writing about myself.  

Second, I am in the process of moving my WordPress account from the basic web-based to a domain-based platform. That will allow me to pay less for my e-mail and play around with some ads to play for the thing.  I am hoping to have that rolled out in mid to late April.

Today is Saint Patrick’s Day.  I remember when I was working at Wyndham Consumer Finance some folks in accounting were throwing a Saint Patrick’s Day party.  They were looking for trivia questions, so I gave them a few that were Catholic based.  The primary organizer got a somewhat distasteful look and and stated, ‘I think we should leave Catholicism out of this.’  To which I replied, ‘Then you shouldn’t be celebrating ‘Saint Patrick’s Day, should you…’

It’s somewhat comical to me, that in our increasingly secular society, we loose sight of the fact that so much of our history is based on religous ideas and people.  The two largest cities in California, as well as its capitol, are named in honor of Mary, St. Francis of Assisi and the Blessed Sacrament.  

Los AngelesEl Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de la Porciúncula (The Village of Our Lady, the Queen of the Angels of Porziuncola).  ‘Our Lady’ being the Blessed Virgin Mary.

San Francisco: Saint Francis 

Sacramento: The Blessed Sacrament

As you enjoy your beer and beef (or in my case, beer and yummy raw food something.  I don’t know yet), try to give some thought to those who went before you and try to consider the impact you will have on others.

And so it goes.

f

One response »

  1. Mardi Gras is the same deal – most people see it simply as a reason to get really drunk, wear beads and flash people. They forget that without the fasting and solemnity of Ash Wednesday and lent, Mardi Gras is kind of pointless.

Leave a Reply

