RSS Feed

Bye Bye Birkie

Posted on
My Birkys
My Birkies

Well, it has been a glorious seven years, but the time has come for me to retire my Birkenstocks.  I got these shoes from Neil Weir, my wife’s grandfather after he had a hip replacement.  He bought them because the doctor said that he should have shoes that are easy to get on and off.  In classic Neil style, he bought the most expensive pair he could find.  After a few days, he put them away.  Several weeks after his surgery, we were all visiting and he asked what size feet I had.  The question came out of the blue and you could never really tell what he was thinking.  I told him and he said that he had a pair of shoes for me.  I tried them on and they were only one size larger than I usually wore.  44 instead of 43 so I took them.

Those of you who have seen me walk know that I have a slightly toe-forward gait.  The picture abvoe does not really do justice to the amount of toe wear on these shoes.  I would guess that there is at least a half an inch missing from the toes. 

But why relegate these wonderful shoes to the dustbin of history?  I have posted them on Craigslist.  Here is the link.  Enjoy.

And so it goes.
f

One response »

  1. Did anyone take them?

Leave a Reply

