RSS Feed

Billy Joel

Posted on

Last night my dad took me to see Billy Joel.  I did not really know what to expect since the most I know about Billy Joel was that song where he sings about all the leaders of the world and the ‘It’s All Rock and Roll To Me’.  I knew that song from my deaf brother singing it.  Now that was comedy!  He did that when I was five or so.  Here it is 30 years later and he and I still laugh about it. 

We got to Arco Arena and realized that we did not have $10 for parking.  We had $9.75.  My dad offered it to the parking attendant and he just told us to have a nice night.  I don’t know if he was saying it in a ‘Go on in!’ mood or a ‘Get the heck out of here.’  Dad viewed it to be former and we went in and parked. 

For those of you who have not seen him, Billy Joel looks a little older than you would expect. 

Here is mister Joel as of last night(ish)

Here he is sometime around the time I was born.

It was a really good show, if for no other reason that I got to hang with the old man and see a seasoned performer.  There is really something to be said for a guy who has been doing what he does for 30+ years.  There is a certain comfort, a verve that only comes with experience.

I also discovered the Billy a pretty decent piano player.  He also had a full band with horns and the like.  All were very good.  If you ever get a chance to see him, it is worth it.

And so it goes.

f

One response »

  1. I’m so jealous!! I love, love, love when they have the full band and the horns (especially the horns!); it’s so much fun (to watch them perform) and easy to relax…..sort of like they’re playing just for you.

Leave a Reply

