RSS Feed

Ducks and dancing daughters

Posted on

Good Morning, All.

We have ducks at the townhouse we are renting right now.  See below:

Da Ducks

Apparently they smoke, too.  We live at a place called ‘Bella Lago’, a somewhat pretentious name that means ‘Beautiful Lakes’, so something like that.  It used to be called ‘The Lakes’, back when I was growing up.  The place is full of little ponds and the ponds have, yes, ducks.  Other than all the duck doody lying around, it is a neat feature.  Every night we go out and feed the ducks left over dinner.  I started experiementing to see what they would and would not eat.  They will eat bread, raw pizza crust (from my dehydrator) and dog food.  They will not eat coffee beans, unless they are wrapped in bread.  I was afraid they would be up all night quacking, but it didn’t work out that way.  Whew! 

And dancing daughters.  When I was little, my sister Joy and I used to listen to this 45 of Merle Haggard’s ‘Rainbow Stew’.  When I was staying at my parents house last month I was digging around my old pile of albums and I can across it.  Noelle, my oldest, loves listening to it.  Very cute.  She and my son, Sammy, dance around the room.  Here are the lyrics:

There’s a big, brown cloud in the city,
And the countryside’s a sin.
An’ the price of life is too high to give up,
Gotta come down again.
When the world wide war is over and done,
And the dream of peace comes true.
We’ll all be drinkin’ free bubble-ubb,
Eatin’ that rainbow stew.
When they find out how to burn water,
And the gasoline car is gone.
When an airplane flies without any fuel,
And the satellite heats our home.
One of these days when the air clears up,
And the sun comes shinin’ through.
We’ll all be drinkin’ free bubble-ubb,
An’ eatin’ that rainbow stew.

Eatin’ rainbow stew in a silver spoon,
Underneath that sky of blue.
All be drinkin’ free bubble-ubb,
An’ eatin’ that rainbow stew.

You don’t have to get high to get happy,
Just think about what’s in store.
When people start doin’ what they oughta be doin’,
Then they won’t be booin’ no more.
When a President goes through the White House door,
An’ does what he says he’ll do.
We’ll all be drinkin’ free bubble-ubb,
Eatin’ that rainbow stew.

1981. Funny, huh?  It just goes to show that there are really no new problems in the world, we just recycle the old ones.  We all forget the problems of a decade ago and when they show up again, everyone is surprised.  Well not me!  I have decided to abandon my current political leaning and become a Reconstructive Monarchist!  That’s right, I think we should just write a letter of aplogy to the Her Royal Majesty, ask to re-join the empire and let her deal with it.  Why not.

 And so it goes.

f

One response »

  1. Pingback: Is There Life Outside the South? « Sean's Weblog

Leave a Reply

